Skip Navigation
My Account
What's New
How do I?

Award Winners

Readers' Cafe


Modern Library - Modern Library's 100 Best Books will provide hours of reading and debating about what's on the list and why.

Colorado and the West

Colorado Book Awards - The Colorado Book Awards are presented by Colorado Humanities & Center for the Book to recognize outstanding contributions by Colorado authors, editors, illustrators, and photographers.

Spur Award - The Spur Awards is given by the Western Writers of America for distinguished writing about the American West.

Willa Award - The award is given by Women Writing the West. Willa Cather is among the most distinguished American women in early twentieth-century fiction.


Bram Stoker Awards - Presented annually by the Horror Writers Association, the Stoker Awards are a well-recognized guide to the best new horror literature and film.

Christy Awards - The Christy Award is designed to: Nurture and encourage creativity and quality in the writing and publishing of fiction written from a Christian worldview.

Thriller - This award is given by the International Thriller Writers association.


Audie Awards - The Audie Awards are given by the Audio Publishers Association.

Carnegie Medals - The Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction recognizes the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. the previous year. The winners are sponosred by the American Library Association.


Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction - The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world. (Formerly the Orange Prize.)

Giller Prize (Scotiabank) - The Giller Prize was founded in 1994 and recognizes excellence in Canadian fiction.

International Literary Prizes and Book Awards - Excellent listing of current book awards, including American.

Man Booker Prize - The Man Booker Prize for Fiction, first awarded in 1969, promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year published in the UK.

Nobel Prize in Literature - The Nobel Prize in Literature recognizes the works of authors from many different languages and cultural backgrounds. The 2013 honoree is Canadian Alice Munro.


Lambda Awards - The Lambda Literary Foundation nurtures, celebrates, and preserves LGBT literature through programs that honor excellence, promote visibility and encourage development of emerging writers.

National Book Awards - The goal is to enhance the public's awareness of exceptional books written by fellow Americans, and to increase the popularity of reading in general.

National Book Critics Circle - The National Book Critics Circle Awards are given in five categories: fiction, general nonfiction, biography or autobiography, poetry, and criticism.

National Jewish Book Awards - The awards, presented by category, are designed to give recognition to outstanding books, to stimulate writers to further literary creativity, and to encourage the reading of worthwhile titles.

PEN/Faulkner Award - The PEN/Faulkner Award is the largest peer juried prize for fiction in the United States.


Agatha Awards - The Agatha Awards honor the "traditional mystery" or books best typified by the works of Agatha Christie.

Anthony Awards - The Anthony Awards are given fans of the genre during Bouchercon World Mystery Convention.

Edgar Awards - Mystery Writers of America give the Edgar Awards to recognize excellence in crime, detective and mystery fiction.


Pulitzer Prizes - The Pulitzer Prize honors excellence in journalims and the arts, including works of fiction, biography, drama, history and general nonfiction that reflect American life.


Rita Awards - The Romance Writers of America award the Rita for the best published romance novels in a variety of categories.

Science Fiction

Hugo Awards - The Hugo Awards are given by the World Science Fiction Society to recognize the best in books, short stories, film and television.

Nebula Awards - The Nebula Awards by Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America to celebrate excellence in writing.

My Account Library Locations What's New Research Download How do I? Events Kids Teens
Prospector FRCC
Try our App! Try our Mobile App!
Facebook Twitter River's Mouth Blog Instagram Pininterest Google Plus LinkedIn Flickr You Tube
Poudre River Public Library District, 301 E. Olive Street, Fort Collins, CO 80524, (970) 221-6740
Including the collection of Front Range Community College, Larimer Campus