Skip Navigation
My Account
    Locations
    What's New
    Research
    Download
    How Do I?

Love and Intrigue

Readers' Cafe

Book Jacket for Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Lord style=
Book Jacket for An Affair at Stonecliffe style=
Book Jacket for The Benevolent Society of Ill-Mannered Ladies style=
Book Jacket for The Body in the Garden style=
Book Jacket for A Most Agreeable Murder style=
Book Jacket for The Murder of Mr. Wickham style=
Book Jacket for Murder in Westminster style=
Book Jacket for The Secret Lives of Country Gentlemen style=
Book Jacket for Silence in the Library style=
Book Jacket for Unladylike Lessons in Love style=

Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Lord / Celeste Connally

Bridgerton meets Agatha Christie in Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Lord,a dazzling first entry in a terrific new Regency-era mystery series with a feminist spin from Celeste Connally.

When Lady Petra Forsyth's fianc? and soulmate dies just weeks ahead of their wedding, she makes the shocking proclamation - in front of London's loosest lips - that she will never remarry. A woman of independent means, Petra sees no reason to cede her wealth and freedom to any man now that the love of her life has passed, nor does she intend to become confined to her country home. Instead, she uses her title to gain access to elite spaces and enjoy the best of society without expectations. But when ballroom gossip suggests that a longtime friend has died of "melancholia" while in the care of a questionable physician, Petra vows to use her status to dig deeper - uncovering a private asylum where men pay to have their wives and daughters locked away, or worse.

An Affair at Stonecliffe / Candace Camp

In this delightful new Regency romance from?New York Times?bestseller Candace Camp, a feisty commoner and a ruthless aristocrat spar in all the right ways.?Noelle Rutherford would do anything for her young son, Gil. A fiercely independent woman recently widowed, Noelle is determined to raise Gil alone. After all, her late husband Adam Rutherford married her for love, which infuriated his aristocratic family. Gil is Noelle's whole world, and she will not have him wrested from her by haughty nobles.?But she may not have a choice unless she's prepared to run.?

One awful night, Noelle is confronted by Carlisle Thorne, a handsome yet severe, irascible man sent by the Rutherfords. Noelle is horrified when Carlisle offers her money in exchange for taking Gil to be raised at the Rutherford estate, Stonecliffe.

The Benevolent Society of Ill-Mannered Ladies / Alison Goodman

A high society amateur detective at the heart of Regency London uses her wits and invisibility as an 'old maid' to protect other women in a new and fiercely feminist historical mystery series from New York Times bestselling author Alison Goodman. Lady Augusta Colebrook, "Gus," is determinedly unmarried, bored by society life, and tired of being dismissed at the age of forty-two. She and her twin sister, Julia, who is grieving her dead betrothed, need a distraction. One soon presents itself: to rescue their friend's goddaughter, Caroline, from her violent husband. The sisters set out to Caroline's country estate with a plan, but their carriage is accosted by a highwayman. In the scuffle, Gus accidentally shoots and injures the ruffian, only to discover he is Lord Evan Belford, an acquaintance from their past who was charged with murder and exiled to Australia twenty years ago.

The Body in the Garden / KATHARINE SCHELLMAN

A SUSPENSE MAGAZINE BEST BOOK OF 2020Perfect for fans of Tasha Alexander and Rhys Bowen, Katharine Schellman's debut novel is sure to delight.London 1815. Though newly-widowed Lily Adler is returning to a society that frowns on independent women, she is determined to create a meaningful life for herself even without a husband. She's no stranger to the glittering world of London's upper crust. At a ball thrown by her oldest friend, Lady Walter, she expects the scandal, gossip, and secrets. What she doesn't expect is the dead body in Lady Walter's garden.

Lily overheard the man just minutes before he was shot: young, desperate, and attempting blackmail. But she's willing to leave the matter to the local constables--until Lord Walter bribes the investigating magistrate to drop the case.

A Most Agreeable Murder / Julia Seales

When a wealthy bachelor drops dead at a ball, a young lady takes on the decidedly improper role of detective in this action-packed debut comedy of manners and murder.. "If you grew up reading Jane Austen and Agatha Christie (or are a fan of Bridgerton and Knives Out) , you will adore A Most Agreeable Murder." - Kate Stayman-London, bestselling author of One to Watch.

Feisty, passionate Beatrice Steele has never fit the definition of a true lady, according to the strict code of conduct that reigns in Swampshire, her small English township - she is terrible at needlework, has absolutely no musical ability, and her artwork is so bad it frightens people. Nevertheless, she lives a perfectly agreeable life with her marriage-scheming mother, prankster father, and two younger sisters - beautiful Louisa and forgettable Mary.

The Murder of Mr. Wickham / Claudia Gray

A summer house party turns into a thrilling whodunit when Mr. Wickham, one of literature's most notorious?villains,?meets a sudden and suspicious end in this brilliantly imagined mystery featuring Jane Austen's leading literary characters - from the New York Times bestselling author. The happily married Mr. Knightley and Emma are throwing a house party, bringing together distant relatives and new acquaintances - characters?beloved by Jane Austen fans. Definitely not invited is Mr. Wickham, whose latest financial scheme has netted him an even broader?array of enemies. As tempers flare and secrets?are revealed, it's clear that everyone would be happier if Mr. Wickham got his comeuppance. Yet?they're all shocked?when Wickham turns up murdered - except, of course, for the killer hidden in their midst.

Murder in Westminster / VANESSA RILEY

Smart, witty, and refreshingly diverse, this new Regency-set series from acclaimed author Vanessa Riley combines her signature emotional richness and attention to detail in a historical mystery featuring a strong, clever, and captivating heroine . . .

Discovering a body on her property presents Lady Abigail Worthing with more than one pressing problem. The victim is Juliet, the wife of her neighbor, Stapleton Henderson. Although Abigail has little connection with the lady in question, she expects to be under suspicion. Abigail's skin color and her mother's notorious past have earned her a certain reputation among the ton, and no amount of wealth or status will eclipse it. Abigail can't divulge that she was attending a secret pro-abolition meeting at the time of the murder.

The Secret Lives of Country Gentlemen / KJ Charles

Bridgerton meets Poldark in this sweeping Regency romance of smugglers, adventure, mystery, and life-changing love from celebrated author KJ Charles.

Abandoned by his father, Gareth Inglis grew up lonely, prickly, and well-used to disappointment. Still, he longs for a connection. When he meets a charming stranger, he falls head over heels -- until everything goes wrong and he's left alone again. Then Gareth's father dies, turning the shabby London clerk into Sir Gareth, with a grand house on the remote Romney Marsh and a family he doesn't know. The Marsh is another world, a strange, empty place notorious for its ruthless gangs of smugglers. And one of them is dangerously familiar ... Joss Doomsday has run the Doomsday smuggling clan since he was a boy.

Silence in the Library / Katharine Schellman

Regency widow Lily Adler has finally settled into her new London life when her semi-estranged father arrives unexpectedly, intending to stay with her while he recovers from an illness. Hounded by his disapproval, Lily is drawn into spending time with Lady Wyatt, the new wife of an old family friend. Lily barely knows Lady Wyatt. But she and her husband, Sir Charles, seem as happy as any newly married couple until the morning Lily arrives to find the house in an uproar and Sir Charles dead.All signs indicate that he tripped and struck his head late at night. But when Bow Street constable Simon Page is called to the scene, he suspects foul play. And it isn't long before Lily stumbles on evidence that Sir Charles was, indeed, murdered.Mr. Page was there when Lily caught her first murderer, and he trusts her insight into the world of London's upper class.

Unladylike Lessons in Love / Amita Murray

"Sizzling romance with a splash of intrigue." - Julia Quinn

Amita Murray takes us on a journey from the pleasure gardens of society to the dangerous streets of 19th century London, in this spectacular romantic debut by an unforgettable new voice. "Women mind their reputation if they want to marry. I don't want to marry."

As the eldest daughter of an English earl and his Indian mistress, Lila Marleigh knows what it's like to be an outsider from "polite" society. As children, she and her sisters were wrenched from their home and sent to England, never quite accepted by those who claimed to care for them. Now Lila has set herself up as hostess of an exclusive gaming club, charming the ton that flocks to her establishment each night, though it shuns her by day.


My Account
Locations
What's New
Download
Research
How Do I?
Events
Kids
Teens
Español
Prospector FRCC


Library logo

Facebook Instagram LinkedIn You Tube

Poudre River Public Library District (970) 221-6740
Including the collection of Front Range Community College, Larimer Campus


Library logo

Facebook Instagram LinkedIn You Tube

Poudre River Public Library District
(970) 221-6740

Including the collection of
Front Range Community College, Larimer Campus